William C. Lowry Math Educator of the Year

Each year, VCTM recognizes a classroom teacher on the elementary, middle, secondary, university, and math specialist/coach level for his or her outstanding work in the field of mathematics.

One teacher selected from each of the five categories may be awarded the VCTM William C. Lowry Mathematics Educator of the Year Award.  All awards are announced in the Spring of each year at the annual conference.

We are now accepting nominations for the 2018 Math Educator of the Year award.

Download this nomination form and mail or email to the address provided. Nominations must be postmarked by October 2, 2017 or electronically submitted by October 7, 2017.

Nominees will be notified and will be asked to submit additional information.

The qualifications for the award are as follows:

  • The nominee must be a current member of VCTM when they submit additional information.
  • The nominee must have a minimum of five years teaching experience and be a current classroom teacher, work with students as a math resource teacher or be a math specialist. 
  • The nominee must have made notable accomplishments in teaching mathematics. 
  • The nominee may be nominated by a sponsor or may make a self-nomination. (Anyone who is a member of VCTM, a school division superintendent, a school principal or headmaster, a supervisor, director of instruction, a college dean or department head or the president of any NCTM affiliated group may sponsor a candidate.) 

Congratulations to our 2017 Awardees

Elementary School: Maria Swartzentruber, Rockingham County Schools
Middle School: Matthew Reames, Burgundy Farm Country Day School
High School: Jillian Marballie, Montgomery County Schools
Math Specialist: Tasha Fitzgerald, Culpeper County Schools
College/University: Andrew Wynn, Virginia State University 
Tasha Fitzgerald, Math Specialist of the Year
Jillian Marballie, High School Educator of the Year
Matthew Reames, Middle School Educator of the Year
Maria Swartzentruber, Elementary School Educator of the Year
Andrew Wynn, College/University Educator of the Year

The educator of the year award is named in honor of Dr. William C. Lowry. Learn more about Dr. Lowry's impact on mathematics education in Virginia in this journal dedication.

PO Box 73593
Richmond, VA 23235

For Comments, Suggestions or Help:
Contact Webmaster at vctmath@gmail.com

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software